knowledge questions

38 Important Questions On Indian Constitution

1. When was the Constituent Assembly convened ?Answer: 1946

2. When was the first session of the Constituent Assembly held ?
Answer:9 December, 1946

3. Under which Plan was the Constituent Assembly constituted ?
Answer:Cabinet Mission Plan

4. Who was the President of the Constituent Assembly ?
Answer:Dr. Rajandra Prasad

5. Who was the Chairman of the Drafting Committee ?
Answer:B R. Ambedkar

6. When was the drafting of the Indian Constitution completed and adopted ?
Answer:26 November, 1949

7. When was the Constitution of India put into effect?
Answer:26 January ,1950

8. Since when India became a Republic ?
Answer:26 January, 1950

9. Who was the first Vice- President of the Indian Union ?
Answer: Dr. Rajendra Prasad

10. Who was the first Vice- President of the Indian Union ?

11. Who was the first Prime Minister of the Indian Union ?
Answer:Jawaharlal Nehru

12. Who was the last Governor- General (Viceroy) of British India ?
Answer:Lord Mountbatten

13. Who was the first Governor- General of the Indian Dominion (Independent India) ?
Answer:Lord Mountbatten

14. Who adopted the National Flag of India ?
Answer:The Constituent Assembly (July 1947)

15. Who set forth the main objectives of the Constituent Assembly in the form of the Objective Resolution ?
Answer:Jawaharlal Nehru

16. How many articles are there in the Indian Constitution ?
Answer:395 Articles

17. How many Fundamental Rights have been guaranteed by the Indian Constitution ?

18. How many Fundamental Duties have been assigned to the citizens of India ?

19. Who appoints the Prime minister of India ?
Answer:The President of India

20. How is the President of India elected ?
Answer: By Electoral College

21. What is the name of the Upper House of the Indian Parliament?
Answer: Rajya Sabha

22. What is the name of the Lower House of the Indian Parliament?
Answer: Lok Sabha

23. Who presides over the session of the Lok Sabha?
Answer: The Speaker

24. Who presides over the session of the Rajya Sabha?
Answer: The Vice-President of India

25. Can President’s rule be imposed on the Central like that in the states?
Answer: No

26. Who appoints the Governors of States?
Answer: The President of India

27. What is the total number of members in the Lok Sabha?
Answer: 552

28. What is the number of elected members in the Lok Sabha?
Answer: 530

29. How many members constitute the Rajya Sabha?
Answer: 250

30. How are the members of the Rajya Sabha elected?
Answer: Proportional representation by single transferable vote

31. How many representatives are there in the Lok Sabha from West Bengal?
Answer: 42 representatives

32. What is the total number of members in the West Bengal Legislative Assembly?
Answer: 294 Members

33. What is the tenure of Lok Sabha?
Answer: 5 years

34. Which is the highest Judicial Court of India?

Answer: The Supreme Court

35. How many Judges constitute the Supreme Court?
Answer: 26 Judges

36. How many times till 2006 the Parliamentary Elections have been held?
Answer: 14 times

37. A citizen of how many years of age can cast vote?
Answer: 18 years

38. How many Indian Territories are there in the Indian Union?
Answer: 7 (seven)

39. How many times (till October 2006) Indian Constitution has been amended?
Answer: 93 times

SOURCE: preservearticles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *